Home » Uncategorized » The Struggle

The Struggle

We are opposites in basic ways, Jesus and I, yet by giving my life over to Him, we become one. I don’t mean opposite as in “opposed” or deliberately rebellious.

8 For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” says the Lord.  “For as the heavens are higher than the earth, So are My ways higher than your ways, And My thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8-9

He goes on to say:

10 “For as the rain comes down, and the snow from heaven,
And do not return there,
But water the earth,
And make it bring forth and bud,
That it may give seed to the sower
And bread to the eater

He plants a seed that flourishes in obedience. He “feeds” us on these words through study and obedience.

See, Jesus is the Son of God, with perfect righteous blood. He now sits at the right hand of the Father. It also seems a paradox to me that we come to Him broken in so many ways, yet, He was whole and made broken. He suffered immeasurably for our sin. We suffer because of sin. He came to resolve the issue of sin and heal our wounds. “But He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our iniquities; The chastisement for our peace was upon Him, And by His stripes we are healed.” – Isaiah 53:5 “who Himself bore our sins in His own body on the tree, that we, having died to sins, might live for righteousness—by whose stripes you were healed.” – 1 Peter 2:24

He came in the flesh for many reasons; most of them are difficult to “wrap our minds around.”  The law could give us the way to live, but couldn’t rescue us. The law gave us rules, but we needed an example. Our disconnect with God left us with a longing to get closer to Him. The list is infinite; our needs couldn’t be met unless or until He came to bridge us with His Father, that we might also call Him FATHER. The scripture reads, “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life”. -John 3:16

See Jesus was born Holy, but because He was flesh as we are, He was tempted as we are. If Jesus needed alone-time with God to communicate and live obediently, how much more do we need to be in constant prayer. Jesus was born whole, wholly of God and wholly flesh. He needed guidance from the Holy Spirit as we do, “Then Jesus, being filled with the Holy Spirit, returned from the Jordan and was led by the Spirit into the wilderness”, – Luke 4:1  “Then Jesus was led up by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted by the devil.”  -Mathew 4:1 also, “And He was there in the wilderness forty days,tempted by Satan, and was with the wild beasts; and the angels ministered to Him. -Mark 1:13 during this time he fasted, “And when He had fasted forty days and forty nights, afterward He was hungry.” – Mathew 4:2 Jesus answered every temptation with scripture, “But He answered and said, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.’” – Mathew 4:4. When the disciples asked how they should pray, he answered, “

In this manner, therefore, pray:

Our Father in heaven,
Hallowed be Your name.
10 Your kingdom come.
Your will be done
On earth as it is in heaven.
11 Give us this day our daily bread.
12 And forgive us our debts,
As we forgive our debtors.
13 And do not lead us into temptation,
But deliver us from the evil one.
For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen. – Mathew 6:9-13

He led by example. He experienced temptation and hardship as we do. His response to it makes the difference. He died a horrific, painful, shameful death, that we might live. he was tormented physically, that we might be made whole spiritually (and physically). “The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” – John 10:10

A current personal struggle opened my eyes to a barrier, or wall I’ve been carrying that is interfering in my obedient walk with God. This causes anxiety and discomfort. I want to obey, and I could not understand, KNOWING He means well with me, why I was struggling so much with this. I finally realized that there is a deep wound there. Obeying in this area means some level of “discomfort”, venturing into unfamiliar territory. The discomfort of disobedience, however is worse. I don’t want the anxiety or internal wall that is truly like spiritual indigestion. We also can’t grow in disobedience. It hinders our walk with God. I now realize that this “wound” has festered and was “improperly bandaged”; it’s a heart issue. Taking that “bandage” off means pain. It means I have to deal with junk I’d rather not face. It means I have to be “real” and to some extent public about my struggle. The issue is that apparent to others. There isn’t one simple quick fix. My comfort in this is that I have an example, the scriptures previously mentioned show me, He went before me and continues to do so. He will make my paths straight as I deal with this issue. I will trust Him more than ever as I go through this. I will be refined through the fire. “I will bring the one–third through the fire, Will refine them as silver is refined, And test them as gold is tested. They will call on My name, And I will answer them. I will say, ‘This is My people’; And each one will say, ‘The Lord is my God.’” – Zechariah 13:9

“I counsel you to buy from Me gold refined in the fire, that you may be rich; and white garments, that you may be clothed, that the shame of your nakedness may not be revealed; and anoint your eyes with eye salve, that you may see. – Revelation 3:18

**All scripture is from the NKJV

 

Leave a Reply

